Virginia Third DUI Offense
In Virginia, it is against the law to drive drunk. The consequences of a DUI conviction are very serious. It is important to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney as soon as possible to ensure that your rights are upheld.
In Virginia, a third DUI offense is a class 6 felony. If this is your third DUI offense within five years of the other two, you will be sentenced to a mandatory minimum jail sentence of six months. If this is your third DUI offense within five to ten years, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is 90 days. The minimum fine for a third DUI offense is $1,000.
If you are convicted of a third DUI offense, your license will be revoked indefinitely. You must wait for at least three years after your conviction to petition the court.
If a judge does issue you a restricted license, he may also order you to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. An ignition interlock device is a small system that is attached to your vehicle dashboard. In order to operate your vehicle, you must blow into the device. If your BAC is over a pre-set limit, your car will not start.
If you have recently been arrested in Virginia for a third DUI offense, it is important that you contact a knowledgeable DUI defense attorney as soon as possible.
Payment Plans Available